Arizona invitational: olympians roland schoeman, darian townsendand matt grevers record victories

MESA, Arizona, May 27. ROLAND Schoeman, Darian Townsend and AlyssaAnderson each won their second event of the meet and Matt Greverswon his first as the third day of racing at the ArizonaInvitational concluded this evening. Last night, Sandpipers’ Olivia Barker settled for second in the 200fly. Tonight, she bested the entire field in the 100 fly with asolid time of 1:00.87.

Tucson Ford’s Erin Campbell finishedrunner-up with a 1:01.36, while Campbell’s teammate and 2008Olympic silver medalist Christine Magnuson picked up third in1:01.86. The men’s 100 fly featured a three-way battle between atrio of Arizona-based swimmers. Phoenix Swim Club’s Roland Schoemangot to the wall first in 53.35, followed by Arizona’s Giles Smith(53.52) and Tucson Ford’s Masa Kishida (53.87). Schoeman also wonthe 50 free last night. Arizona’s Alyssa Anderson didn’t appear to be too tired after hertwo wins last night as she dominated the field in the women’s 200free super-final.

Anderson nearly broke the 2-minute barrier butfinished in 2:00.53, well ahead of Gold Medal’s Shannon Landgrebe(2:03.30). Arizona’s Margo Geer placed third in 2:04.34. ThreeTucson Ford swimmers battled it out in the men’s 200 freesuper-final. Darian Townsend pulled away the second half of therace to win in 1:50.08. Cell Phone Digitizer

Adam Ritter finished a second back in1:51.05, while Jean Basson touched in 1:51.19. Sixteen-year-old Rowan Hauber of Phoenix Swim Club turned in thefastest performance in the women’s 100 back at 1:04.11, half asecond in front of Tucson Ford’s Maggie Meyer. Arizona’s EmmaDarlington completed the podium with a 1:05.26. Tucson Ford’s MattGrevers, the 2008 Olympic silver medalist in the 100 back, provedto be too strong for the rest of the field as he ran away with theevent in 54.21. Blackberry Protective Case

Arizona’s Mitchell Friedemann separated himself forsecond with a 56.18, while teammate Ellis Miller swam a 58.74 forthird. In the final event of the evening, Sandpipers’ Catie Miller swam a4:57.00 to win the women’s 400 IM, just off her prelim swim of4:54.00. Wild West Aquatics’ Sam Harding finished second in5:00.17, while Brianna Francis of Devil Ray touched in 5:02.84 forthird. Arizona’s Austen Thompson won the men’s 400 IM in 4:31.51,with Sandpipers’ Hannon Daigler (4:35.87) and Gold Medal’s DerekKnittle (4:39.86) in second and third. China Cell Phone Hard Covers

The men’s and women’s 200 free relays opened the night. Wild West’sEryn Murphy, Josi Gabaldon, Jorgi Hobson and Madi Burns won thewomen’s race in 1:50.90, while Mesa Aquatics picked up the boys’win in 1:37.92 with Payton Sorenson, Seth Maddy, Tyler Guttmacherand Ross McDonnell. Results: Arizona Invitational.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s